EndNote for Desktop

Instructions for getting started with EndNote X7 for desktop.

Getting Started Topics

Direct Export from EBSCOhost including Academic Search Premier and CINAHL, and Web of Science

Each on-line database you work with will have slightly different steps to export your references into EndNote. View tutorials on direct export from EBSCOhost which includes Academic Search Premier and CINAHL, as well as Web of Science, below.

Direct Export from EBSCOhost databases including Academic Search Premier and CINAHL
1. Add the records you wish to export to your folder

2. Select the folder button

3. Mark the select/deselect all box

4. Select the Export button

5. Select the Direct Export to EndNote option

6. Select the Save button

7. In Firefox, you may be asked if you want to save the file or open it

8. On Windows, select the option to open with the ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper application

Direct Export from Web of Science

1. Select the database you want to search; to select the set of databases formerly called  Web of Science, select Web of Science Core Collection

2. Mark the records you wish to export to EndNote on the desktop

3. Select Save to EndNote Desktop from the dropdown list

4. Select Full Record from the Record Contents dropdown list, to import author addresses and keywords as well as bibliographic data (Note this option may not be available if you are not searching the Web of Science Core Collection)

5. Click Send 

6. If Firefox asks what to do with the file, Choose Open With, and select EndNote and click OK

7. References will appear in the Imported References temporary group 

 

Copyright © 2004-2017. All rights reserved.
Health Sciences Library of the John A. Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawaii at Mānoa
651 Ilalo Street, MEB 101 : Honolulu, HI 96813-5525 / Phone: 808-692-0810 Fax: 808-692-1244